In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the causes of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It is enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Crime is a worldwide phenomenon which is on an exponential rise. Many believe that in order to decrease the rates of crime, we must address the issues such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities as placing more police force and imprisonment is not enough to deter them. I agree and believe that the driving forces behind these crimes are because of an uneducated society as well as the surges in inflation. Firstly, some may believe that lack of education limits the borders of intelligence. For example in many cities where the education rate is below average, those cities have a higher crime rate. This means that many people may be unaware of or underestimate the consequences of committing crimes such as theft or burglary or even as paramount as murder. Similarly, education is additionally needed for individuals to aspire to career goals. As a result, this keeps them busy studying and off the streets. Therefore educating people about the consequences and encouraging them to study can inspire society to stay off the streets and refrain from committing any crime. Secondly, our surging inflation makes it very difficult to survive on a basic salary. For,example many families across the UK are paid basic wages. Moreover, some households only have one breadwinner. As a result, it has become extremely difficult to provide even the basic necessities consequently, resulting in thefts and burglaries. Hence, it is absolutely paramount that we try and help alleviate reasons for poverty to deter people from committing such crimes. In conclusion, to enable us to decrease crime rates, we must help share the burden of the community by guiding the poor and strengthening our educational abilities, as only increasing the police force and putting people into jails won’t stop them.