People are responsible for their happiness. Others feel happiness depends on other factors in their life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about happiness and how to reach it in life. While some of them think every individual should gain it on their own, others believe that there are other factors in life that must be considered in order to live happily. I think both views are accurate and describe the reality of being happy. On the one hand, people can be responsible for their own happiness. In today’s living situation, where mental problems are increasing, depression or anxiety can affect people ’s quality of life and make them feel bad about themselves. If people take these diseases seriously and consult a psychiatrist about their mental status, they can benefit from the latest advice of a psychologist, or if their situation is serious, they can use medicines under the supervision of a doctor. By improving their underlying situations, they can feel better about themselves and experience happiness in their lives. So, this can explain people ’s responsibility towards their own happiness. On the other hand, feeling happy can depend on external factors, which are sometimes out of people's control. In other words, relationship status, income, or job satisfaction can all be responsible for one’s happiness. For example, someone whose income is not enough to meet his/her needs cannot make himself/herself happy or ignore his/her situation because these factors directly influence people ’s moods and their grasp of life. So feeling happy can be related to other factors rather than one’s desire. In conclusion, the first view is valid because mental diseases can affect happiness, and people are responsible for improving their mental health. The second view is also accurate because there are external factors, such as income or relationship status that can make people happy or sad. Therefore, each theory explains the reality of happiness.