Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas in whichever way they wish. There should be no public or government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Throughout the history of mankind, artworks have played a vital role in portraying powerful messages to their viewers. Some argue that artists should not be restricted and be free to express their thoughts and creativity. However, I believe that the government should forbid artists from creating art which can be a threat to social harmony and well-being. Firstly, freedom of expression should be in a way that does not harm or insult any group of people. Furthermore, it should not hurt the sentiments of any community. Furthermore, it is common to see artists create books and paintings that target a specific community or race and this has resulted in rage and hatred among minorities leading to public unrest. For example, an Indian movie based on the incidents during the Babri masjid collapse has triggered violence in many parts of India. Hence, governments are compelled to impose bans on such works to safeguard public sentiments. Secondly, some artistic and creative works are not fit to be portrayed on public platforms. To illustrate this example, paintings of naked people or intimate concepts cannot be displayed in public as it is inappropriate for youngsters and children to see them since it can affect their mental well-being. Therefore, governments impose bans on such art forms to be displayed on public platforms. To summarize, although artists have the freedom to create any kind of artwork, it should not be at the cost of public harmony or mental well-being. I strongly believe that restrictions should be imposed on such artworks from being published to the public as this may spread hatred among communities.