In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the causes of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It is enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The rate of crime has increased in the past times. And indeed, we need to aid the causes of it by taking some effective measures. However, merely having more police appointed on the roads and throwing more people into prisons is not enough, and therefore, I cannot entirely agree with the statement; and essay will discuss what policies government should introduce to increase the awareness of ethical and moral values and in what ways schools can contribute to the cause. To start with, political administrations should come up with measures in return for this cause, like formulating policies which reserve the employment of the underprivileged. Additionally, they can develop campaigns that provide people with awareness about moral and ethical values and the consequences of crime. Moreover, free education should be provided to the unprivileged. For Instance, I am associated with a non-profit organization, which raises funding and utilizes it on the above-mentioned causes, and many favourable changes have been seen in their behaviour and lifestyle. Apart from the aforementioned resons, schools can play a vital role in driving children's behaviour from their very foundation. Mandatory classes of moral and ethical science should be held either on a daily basis or alternatively. It will help children to differentiate between right and wrong deeds. To illustrate that, in primary school, we used to have free classes, where teachers used to recite moral stories, and as an assignment, they asked us to help five people in a day, upon which the teacher provided us with grades. In a nutshell, placing more police on the road and throwing people in prison is not merely going to aid. Until and unless the government policies and schools' course of action does not come into the picture.