The Internet has changed the way we interact with each other now compared to in the past. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The unprecedented development in information technology has brought about the emergence of the Internet. Thanks to this advancement, people now can connect with each other regardless of time and distance. In this essay, I will outline some benefits of this phenomenon and also describe its drawbacks. There are many pros to this new method of interaction. Perhaps the most significant one Is that people are able to catch up with their friends and families without worrying about the distance. Even though a well-developed transportation system is in place to bring us anywhere we want to be within a short period of time, we still rely on the Internet to have conversations with one another on some occasions, especially during the period of the Covid-19 pandemic. In addition, online connections also largely benefit corporates and their workers. Social media applications like Facebook, Whatsapp and online meeting platforms like Zoom and Google Meeting make international conversations more effective. However, for every positive, there is a negative. First and foremost, cyberbullying has been happening a lot since the introduction of online social platforms. People get to leave mean comments anonymously on others’ posts without having to pay responsibility. Oftentimes, the victims are being attacked without reason and some have ended their life due to these annoying behaviours of netizens. Furthermore, there is a chance of blurred work-life boundaries due to the involvement of the Internet in work. Superiors will sometimes make use of online messaging platforms to exploit the time of their workers. For example, they might update work schedules and to-do lists after working hours, or ask their subordinates to help to deal with some problems. This in turn may cause stressful life for the employees. In conclusion, it is unequivocally a positive trend for us to be able to connect with each other using mobile gadgets together with the utilization of the Internet. However, we should use this advancement wisely so as to minimize the harm it may bring.