Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age.  To what extent do you agree or disagree?  Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, an increasing number of individuals are concerned about the budget allocation of athletics. Whether the spending on physical activities should be invested in professional players or in the youth has caused a heated debate. Some people insist that this money should be allocated to young ones to start doing exercise at an early age. I mostly agree with this view. First, I believe that the young generation can benefit from leading a healthy lifestyle. This is because childhood is a crucial time for their physical and psychological progress. It is reported that in certain regions of China, the obesity rate has hit 20% among the young generation, which places a harmful impact on kids’ growth. Therefore, nations and families should shoulder the responsibility to create an environment to help kids become physically strong. Moreover, society’s progress also relies on the healthy development of the young generation, which can boost economic advancement in the long term. It is well-known that Japanese students are more vulnerable to cold weather because they are encouraged to do varieties of sports all year round, even on snowy days. Japanese government places an amount of money into installing sports facilities to cater to children’s needs, which eventually benefits the country’s progress. That is not to say we should ignore the financial support for professional competitors to enter major competitions. It is inevitable that many excellent virtues from professional players are influencing our adolescents. However, some Chinese competitors suffer from poverty after their careers are terminated at a young age, which also arouses social anxiety among parents. Therefore, to keep young ones inspired, the government needs to ensure funding for professionals whom young ones look up to. In sum, countries should always give top priority to investments in kids’ physical growth and encourage schools and the public to create an optional environment for young citizens to participate in public sports. Meanwhile, we should not underestimate the positive influences brought by the competitors. Only by doing so, can countries be more likely to develop prosperously.