some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matter(such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their wishes. other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

According to some people, children should be allowed to make decisions about things that affect them. Others insist that if kids are allowed to do what they want, they will become selfish. To some extent, both of these views have their own rights and l will discuss both of them in the following paragraph. I think providing a kind of environment where their offspring can make their own decision could be very effective on their confidence and personality. For example, children, who are given the freedom to choose for themselves, become more independent in their lifetime. This will help them when they become adults and enable them to experience a good individual life. On the other hand, there is a counterargument that if children are allowed to choose what they want, they will grow into selfish adults who do not care for others. Those individuals would disregard any suggestion given by others by prioritizing their own choice. Hence, it is apparent why many are against giving children this freedom. In my opinion, children should be allowed to make their options as long as they are good. Harmful picks should not be permitted at all. For example, if a child insists that they will only eat burgers, parents cannot permit this saying that it is a matter affecting the child. Likewise, parents should not allow children to watch whatever they want on TV or the internet. Children do not know what is right or wrong for them. Hence, parents should always monitor them and correct them when they make wrong choices. It is equally important for parents to teach children to respect other people’s views and needs. For example, if the child insists that they will only watch English movies on TV, other members of the family who watch the same television may be at a disadvantage if they do not like those movies. So, everyone should be taught to respect others’ views and needs. To conclude, harmless choices regarding essential aspects of life such as food, clothing and entertainment should individually be made by the children without any external interference for the overall growth of their personalities. This, however, does not mean that children should be allowed to do whatever they want. It is essential for parents to draw a line beyond which children cannot exercise their right to make choices.