A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

In today’s society, tourism industry plays a vital role in earning money for people globally, it could also cause a host of matters if it is not controlled in a right way. While I understand that tourism may have some drawbacks, I strongly believe that its benefits are greater. On the one hand, several problems can be anticipated in managing the travel. Firstly, environmental problems stem from the awareness of most travellers in tourist destinations. In particular, some groups of holidaymakers usually have a bad habit of littering at their tourist attractions like empty bottles and personal care products, which is one of major contributors to environment pollution. Secondly, the ancient buildings and monuments may be demolished to make way for the tourist service infrastructure which has been excessively constructed such as roads, hotels, resorts, entertainment centers. Obviously, the development of tourism may reduce natural resources and destroy natural habitats. On the other hand, in spite of the drawbacks mentioned above, I believe that the tourism industry is a beneficial measure. The first factor is that the global economy is dramatically boosted by travelling. As a matter of fact, visitors are willing to spend large amounts of money on the travel services like transportation, accommodation, foods, souvenirs and so on. Additionally, more influx of tourists visit local areas leading to increase more new job openings. Thanks to their larger demand, the local residents benefit from landing lots of jobs such as tour guides, restaurant workers, hotel staff and retail employees. In conclusion, the tourism industry exerts not only strengths in economic growth but also shortcomings in environmental impacts. While it may have some negative aspects, I believe they are outweighed by the more significant positive aspects.