Information technology is making it increasingly easy to collect and access computerised data on individuals, which poses a threat to our privacy. In what ways can the information gathered be misused and what can be done to minimise these misuses and protect the privacy of the individual?

Information on private citizens has been collected and stored in electronic form by governments and organisations for many years. However, with the advent of the Internet, information about our finances, health, relationships and tastes as consumers can now be easily accessed and disseminated without our knowledge or consent. As a result of this, unscrupulous individuals and organisations can misuse this information and threaten our privacy. There are a number of ways in which personal data can be misused. The most common is probably the trading of consumers' personal details between commercial organisations with the aim of targeting potential customers. This leads to people being inundated with unsolicited promotional leaflets, catalogues and emails. More seriously, employers can run checks on prospective employees to glean details about their health, political allegiances and whether they have a criminal record. Similarly, insurance companies, not wanting to pay out expensive medical claims, may access the health records of individuals who apply for life insurance policies before deciding whether or not to insure them. How can such abuses be prevented? Regarding the exchange of customer information between companies, the only effective solution is to make unsolicited promotional posts and emails illegal. Consequently, organisations would have no incentive to trade in people's personal details. In order to protect people looking for work, only the information provided by applicants themselves on the application form or during the interview should be legitimate grounds for rejection, and test takers who are rejected should have the right to ask for the reasons why. Finally, as a general measure to prevent misuse by insurance companies, it is essential that organisations which gather data should inform individuals of the information that is collected. Individuals must be able to access the data themselves so that they can find out exactly what kind of information it is and check for inaccuracies. They must be allowed to choose how and to what extent the information is, or will be, used and they must be confident that the data will be held securely. In conclusion, It is not likely that the above measures will result in guaranteed individual privacy. However, I am convinced that they will go some way to help limit the misuse of personal information while at the same time giving individuals more control over the information that is held on them.