Nowadays, many people commute by public transport in most big cities around the world. What are the reason for this? What can be done to improve public transport?

In this era of modernisation, different modes of transportation are available for travellers. Many people prefer travelling by public means nowadays across the globe. The reasons and ways to improve public transportation have been highlighted in the following paragraphs. Firstly, switching to public transportation has a positive impact on the environment and results in less noise and air pollution levels. To exemplify- The World Health Organization's recent survey has shown a rise in car-pool trends and therefore a reduction of vehicles on the road during peak work hours. Furthermore, with the introduction of the metro in many big cities, time and cost savings have been an added advantage for commuters. Another crucial factor is the conservation of energy resources that helps in sustainable development. Despite the availability of several modes of transportation yet there is a scope for improvement in the way these are functioning. Although many metropolitan cities now offer metro services yet accessibility is limited to certain areas. This should be increased to remote areas in order to become more convenient and cater to a larger audience. Additionally, maintenance of the existing infrastructure is equally vital. For instance - a large number of people use these services so it is mandatory to conduct regular checks and ensure that travel is not hampered due to technical issues. To conclude - public commuting has become the need of the hour as natural resources are depleting on a large scale throughout the world. It is the duty of the government to take initiative and provide services that promote the usage of public transportation and benefit society as a whole.