Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without per-mission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some folks believe that people's mobile phone records and messages should be monitored by governments, others think that this information should not be accessible without their permission. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and explain why this information must be accessible to governments for the sake of the overall safety. On the one hand, I can comprehend those who maintain a belief that their phone call records and messages should not be accessed by anyone, including governments. They feel that their privacy is violated and every detail of their lives is exposed. Not only that but also they say they are feeling they are being watched around the clock, and that contradicts their civil rights. On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that all records and messages of all the people should be monitored on a regular basis for various reasons. One of the major causes is related to the homeland security. If we need to keep our countries safe from intruders and those who are willing to have corruption, then we need to make sure that our borders are safe. Furthermore, by monitoring phone call records and messages, we can prevent any terrorist attacks that can harm our people and the infrastructure of the country. For instance, 9/11th, 2019 would have never happened if we kept an eye on all foreigners who crossed the borders illegally. In conclusion, while some persons think that accessing their information by authorities contradicts their way of freedom, I believe that the advantages of accessing such information outweigh its drawbacks.