Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, consumers encounter a large number of advertisements on a daily basis. In my opinion, the increased prevalence of advertisements can have both beneficial and detrimental effects. On the one hand, advertising has many advantages for both businesses and customers. First, it will help businesses to boost their sales. This is mainly because when consumers are informed of the information about a certain product, they may be interested and decide to make a purchase of that product. For instance, Pepsi and Coca-Cola, which are two leading soft drink brands, always have impressive advertising campaigns. Second, for customers, it can be easier for them to make buying choices. When watching or reading advertisements on the internet or in magazines, customers will be aware of new products which they may need. Therefore, they can compare with other similar products and choose the one with the best quality. On the other hand, the abundance of advertisements can leave several repercussions for both businesses and customers. To begin with, customers may be bombarded with too much information when they see too many advertisements on social media or TV. These pieces of information can be inaccurate about the products. As a result, customers might buy products that are not necessary or not as satisfactory as shown in the adverts. As for businesses, using too many advertisements can cause a waste of money. Instead, they can use that amount of money to invest in product research and development. In conclusion, although advertising is important for both businesses and their customers, it can also have adverse impacts.