Nowadays, young people are admiring media and sport stars, even though they do not set a good example. do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days the admiration of media and sports stars as role models is gaining popularity among adolescents. Nevertheless, some people adhere to the belief that these stars cannot set an appropriate example. I opine that this attitude can have both positive and negative impacts. On the one hand, what admiring sports and media do is encourage young people to become successful in their life. This stems from the fact that younger people are at the beginning of their life and they can harness different plans for their future. Thus, choosing successful stars as role models could aid them to accomplish success. For instance, when athlete young generations follow Olympic champions and observe how these people are successful and popular in their field, they strive to become like them and can set their goals based on their role models. That’s how admiring stars can assist young people to achieve accomplishments in their life. Albeit admiring stars and following their behaviour is advantageous to some extent, it has a negative impact as well. Admiring sports and media stars can give rise to that negative trait of stars could become highlighted for young people rather than positive ones. This is rooted in the fact that younger people are not mature enough to tell apart and differentiate the positive and negative behaviour of stars precisely. Accordingly, a negative effect can become bold and seem to adversely affect the younger people life. For example, media stars appear to smoke a cigarette or drink alcohol for snapping photos, this negative trait can encourage young people to kick off smoking which can adversely influence them. Setting stars as role models, consequently, can have a negative impact on young people. In conclusion, admiring media and sports stars can encourage young people to acquire achievements in their life. However, following these sports can have negative effects as well among which bolding the negative traits rather than positive traits can be one of them.