The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is argued that a variety of conventional beliefs about ways of life that our predecessors still keep up to now is worthless for young people in their preparation for modern life. From my own standpoint, I totally disagree with this idea for a certain number of reasons clarified below. To begin with, living experiences inherited from our ancestors remain extremely precise and valuable. Indeed, our forebears underwent a lot of difficult stages in their lives and it is more likely that they also already suffered from a great deal of blood and sweat before distilling these precious lessons. In other words, those are our ancestors’ wisdom in their hopes of successors not experiencing what they did. Elderly Vietnamese people, for example, always claimed that practice makes perfect, a simple lesson that was not only completely precise to people in the past but also keeps its value that endures with us to this day. On the other hand, in present-day society, almost modern lifestyles are built based on our forebears’ conventional beliefs. To illustrate, our older generations showed their patriotism by fighting against exotic invaders and sacrificing themselves to protect the sovereignty of our country while today’s patriotism is encouraged and expressed in totally different ways ranging from simple things like singing a national anthem proudly to more complex ones like contributing to the social-economic development of our country. However, all of these modern ways of expressing patriotism have been derived and navigated from our ancestors. In conclusion, I strongly believe that our ancestor’s traditional beliefs are extremely useful for the youth preparing for their modern lives.