It is argued that parents of children who break the law should be punished as they are responsible for their children's actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that there is a global tendency that exhorts the government to punish parents instead of their offspring, as they have the main responsibility for their offspring's actions. Although I agree that they can be the main factor for these actions, I believe that there are some factors that contribute to these acts. At the outset, fathers have responsibilities for their offspring, but unfortunately, some of them do not aware of their main duties. As a result, children will not have anyone to instruct them, and this will make them act in an inappropriate way because they do not have the ability to know the right act. In addition to the first reason, some parents prefer to spend their time with their friends or at work instead of spending this time with their youngsters; accordingly, the youngsters will be exposed to anxiety and some other psychological diseases that will affect their personality. That is why I believe that they should be punished as they are considered the main factor in this matter. In sharp contrast to this, there are myriads of factors that contribute to adolescents’ actions. Firstly, modernization life is considered a contentious issue these days; Hence, I assume that technology plays a vital role in this phenomenon. To illustrate this, violent games are becoming more popular and they have a crucial influence on them; consequently, a lot of youngsters try to conduct these acts in the real life. Secondly, adolescents tend to imitate things from their surroundings, because of their malleable nature of them. For instance, if they have a friend who conducts a crime or breaks the law, this will exhort them to perform the same action. To conclude, although I agree that parents are the main factor in establishing their children's character and they should be punished if they do not make their duties for their sons, I think that there are other myriads of elements that we must take into account.