In some schools, students must study music and learn to play a musical instrument. In other schools, studying music may not be required or there may be no music classes at all. Do you think all students should have to study music? Support your opinion with reasons and examples.

The ability to play a musical instrument or sing is both a physically and cognitively challenging task. These days many schools make music a compulsory subject, albeit, there are some schools that do not give it any importance and are purely academic based. In my personal opinion, I believe that music should be taught to all children irrespective of their ability. In this, essay I shall further excudiate the reason behind this. To sing or play a musical instrument, we need to develop a strong sense of rhythm and melody along with fine-tuning our motor skills and auditory perception. These are valuable skill sets that can be generalised across all areas like academics and sports. Many youngsters do not have the opportunity to attend these sessions after school hours due to various reasons like finance and logistics, hence providing these courses as a part of the educational curriculum will give every student a chance to experience and learn the basics of music and also an opportunity to explore their interest. Music is considered a stress reliever and is spiritually healing. Often students have an extremely stressful day at school and having this interlude would help them emotionally and prepare them for the rest of the day. Studies have shown that listening to songs releases endorphins and help them to calm down. Studies have shown that musical tones evoke 13 emotional response in a human being like amusement, joy, and excitement, to name a few. It also attention and focus and can directly improve a child's performance in class. Many might argue that not all are musically inclined and hence it would be a waste of resources to invest in the music department. But this is not true, everyone is born with an innate sense of rhythm, which begins when children are in the womb and experience their mother’s heartbeat and can be taught to learn an instrument, it could be something as simple as shaking a maraca or playing a simple song on the keyboard. A percentage of this population will definitely go on to become a musical prodigy. To conclude, Music benefits all and it should be made compulsory at least at the primary level of education and optional at the secondary level. This would give every student an opputrutniy to assess their aptitude and interest.