Today, advanced science and technology have made great changes to people’s life, but artists are still valued high such as musicians, painters and writers.What can the arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is true that modern technology and the development of science have significantly improved human life. However, arts remain to be an indispensable part of our society and there are several reasons why arts are still essential for us. From a personal perspective, arts can help to develop multiple abilities that cognitive science cannot. Firstly, music, songs and painting allow us to develop our creativity and imagination. For example, well-known musicians and painters tend to be more creative than the average population. Secondly, the creation of such artists, including poems, pop music and drawings, would be of great value in terms of culture, and they could make a living and lead a prosperous life by selling their creations. Finally, creations of arts would be easier for average people to understand and enjoy because no specific knowledge is required. On the societal level, artworks could be seen as a connection with people from various cultures and nations. For instance, music fans from all around the world could sing the same song even though they speak different languages. Paintings and literature can help tourists to learn about the culture, customs and traditions of a country. Besides, the cultural industry has become a hundred-million-pound industry that employs millions of employees. People usually need qualifications to find jobs in high-tech companies while in the cultural industry it would be much easier for employees to choose their career path. In conclusion, arts play a key role in our lives from both personal and societal perspectives that science and technology cannot.