Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages

Various forms of assessment are used to evaluate the overall academic performance of students in various institutions. An examination is a core feature of grading students in many nations. In my opinion, the benefits of testing learners outweigh the drawbacks, in that, it motivates scholars to learn and also helps evaluate the teaching method used. To begin with, conducting exams for learners is a great way to motivate them or push them to learn. A significant number of students always want to score above the average, and hence, would go the extra mile to ascertain this. For instance, a student who might not take classroom work seriously would put in an effort to pass the exams since he would not want to fail or be repeated. Furthermore, examining students at the end of lectures is a great tool for evaluating the teaching approach used. The higher the mean score, the more successful the teaching method is. For example, one can conclude that a teacher whose students had considerably lower marks indicate that the style of lecturing used might not be the best. This can help devise a new approach to teaching. On the other hand, a drawback is inevitable. Students go through a great ordeal to write exams. There is intense stress since extra effort is absolutely needed to pass the exams. For instance, an individual has to stay up late or wake up at dawn to study for exams. However, the magnitude of stress could be reduced if students study on a daily basis and do not wait to learn until the exams period. To conclude, assessing students is extremely essential to evaluate their academic performance and teaching style as well. I believe that the positive impacts outweigh the negative impacts.