In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is often taught in some cultures that children could reach every dream they aspire to if they grind hard enough. While it surely motivates them to do their best, i believe it will cause some serious issues as it might frustrate them and this essay will explain more about the reasons. To begin with, the main advantage of campaigning to grind hard is it boosts motivation in order to achieve dreams. Moreover, it can elevate the mood when things go south and galvanize people to keep their faith. This situation will form a determined person which is unbreakable in every situation, paving the way to success. For example, many students in South Korea are forced to study day and night to pass the incredibly hard bar exam because parents argue that success will come to their children if they can pass the exam. This practice has been proven to be an effective way as it is shown by the high development in south Korea in recent decades. On the other hand, pushing children too hard to achieve some specific goals will give much pressure which results in frustration and burnout feelings. These feelings will worsen when children fail to meet the expectations that they set before. Some children even take frustration further to the point they attempt to end their life. This phenomenon is so widely popular in some countries that some governments even take part in it, for instance, the formation of the ministry of happiness in Japan in 2018. In other words, frustration and burnout feelings are so dangerous that they might jeopardise some people's life. To summarize, although telling pupils to try hard could boost their motivation, it could frustrate them and cause burnout that might lead to suicide attempts. Hence, I think that its disadvantages will surely exceed its advantages.