Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Some people argue that the wildlife parks are too brutal and should be shut down, while others say, that they can be convenient in defending creatures. While so many rare species can be saved from extinction, I believe that taking away their natural habitat and their freedom is unacceptable and it is not the right thing to do. On the one hand, many zoos around the world are gaining results in the breeding programme, where many creatures facing extinction have been successfully saved and their numbers increased rapidly. This result is crucial and it is the one that stopped poaching and the destruction of animals’ natural environment. A really good example of this could be the white lion, which reached extinction for its beautiful looks and right now is held for further breeding. On the other hand, most zoos are caging their animals in very small spaces, which doesn’t give them the ability to move naturally. Furthermore, isolating the creatures from their natural habitat can make them suffer mentally making them depressed and physically through lack of exercise. I remember when I first arrived at the biggest zoo in Europe, located in Wien, I got to see how awful and cruel animals live every day, not having the possibility of feeling at home. In conclusion, even though, wildlife parks are helping essentially in breeding some particular species, the pain and suffering each one of them experiences are not acceptable under any conditions and they should not be allowed to exist.