Cultures around the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons for this. Is it a positive or negative trend ?

In today's day and age, trends have drastically changed and have become quite common to people all around the world. The primary reason behind this is because of globalization, and fast-paced urbanization. I firmly believe that it outweighs more ramifications than advantages which I will be discussing in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, globalising technology has brought hundreds of thousands of opportunities and freedom to mankind. People, with the means of devices like Television, and mobile phones can get easier access to multifarious things online and know about distinct cultures or trends happening worldwide. Urbanization, moreover, plays a crucial role in exchanging new concepts, structure and culture of a new region whether it is via language or lifestyle. For instance, Every year, several Nepalese students studying abroad casually celebrate Halloween and Christmas parties in a foreign land although it is quite unlike in their home country so globalisation has made people's lives more indistinguishable and changed mindsets as well. Technological advancements, on the other hand, have adversely impacted people's way of life more than they did in the past. People, these days are blindly following ongoing new trends and social media actually has now full control over people's lives they tend to portray lavish lifestyles to sway new people consequently, people tend to ruin their lives in the name of the trend without even thinking of possible consequences. For instance, India is rich in culture and unique in diversity, if the Indian citizens started to pursue a Western lifestyle then it could cause issues in their country and are at high risk of losing their ancestral values, and diverse cultures so it is better to embrace whom we are to have nuances in individuality rather than following the materialistic world. To conclude, cultures are now quite identical because of the fast-paced technology and it outweighs more drawbacks than merits. So, I completely believe that preserving and accepting our own culture is far more appropriate than following new trends.