Some people believe that art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt, that art has always been one of the most important cultural treasures. It is also compared to the mirror of the contemporary society, therefore, it is heating a debate on this topic. Some individuals state, that art brings not only joy but also understanding and meaning. However, others suppose, that it causes lots of distractions and distances people from reality. To begin with, it is noticeable, that some people enjoy art in order to get inspired and understand some new things for themselves. For example, contemporary art usually asks some questions to think about. Some exhibition visitors are fond of this process and feel excited about topic they have never noticed or thought about before. Moreover, understanding art is not just understanding the artist’s concept, but finding out some meaningful and important thoughts in peoples' own lives. However, there is a controversial point of view, some people consider art a distraction, that has nothing to do with real life. They believe, that some pieces of fine art are just tasteless provocations or even some kinds of vandalism, that should not exist. For instance, there is a famous sculpture called "Clay number 4" in Moscow. It looks like a huge silver piece of clay with the fingerprints of the artist on its surface. There were lots of arguments about this piece, when it was shown to the public for the first time. Some citizens thought of it as a disgusting trash or had some unpleasant associations. This situation shows that some individuals are not capable of reflexing their thoughts and can just express their first impressions about the provocation in an emotional way. To put it in a nutshell, discussing works of art is undoubtedly one of the most controversial topics to debate on. However, I consider myself a strong supporter of the theory, that art brings some self-understanding and meaning to individuals' lives. Whether it is a provocation or not it makes people identify their thoughts and beliefs in real life.