Some people feel the best way to reduce the number of accidents on the road is to further limit the speed of vehicles. Others think that there are better ways to tackle this issue. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Road traffic accidents are the leading cause of death and permanent disability, especially in children and young adults. Reports show that nearly 1.3 billion people die annually due to these accidents.Many are of the opinion that reducing the speed limit of vehicles on the roads will mitigate the situation however the rest feel that there are other numerous effective ways to address this issue. In this essay, I will elucidate both these views and arrive at my opinion. In many developing countries like India, the roads are not constructed properly to withstand the weather condition hence end up with many potholes at regular intervals and a speeding vehicle on such a road is a recipe for disaster. Even in developed regions, even if the roads are in excellent condition, drivers driving at high speed can lose control and end up crashing against other cars or structures. Hence reducing the speed limit on roads,especially in specific zones like schools, residential areas etc would be beneficial. Other strategies like strict road rules regarding using helmets, wearing seat belts, installing car seats for young kids etc needs to be implemented by the government in all nation. Proper pedestrian crossing or bridges needs to be constructed at regular interval to deter people from crossing roads at unauthorised points.An annual inspection of vehicles should be made compulsory to check if the vehicle is road -worthy and to prevent mishaps due to malfunction. To conclude, Road traffic accidents are a pressing issue, equally for both developed and developing countries, hence we will have to use multiple approaches to thwart such accidents and protect the lives of people.