Some people think that living in a country for a period of time is needed to learn the language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every culture and dialect of a particular nation is formed by years of evolution. Many people are of the opinion that to truly understand a tradition of a country and to learn the local language we need to reside in the host country for a certain length of time. I completely disagree with this opinion and will further expand my view in this essay. Nowadays, people are more motivated to learn a new language for better career prospects and sometimes for pure passion.Most schools provide options to learn international languages like Arabic, Spanish, French,Mandarin, Hindi etc, so a student is able to learn the dialect without having to travel to a foreign country. In a country like UAE, where more than 150 nationalities live, the opportunity to learn about a culture is also adequate. The governments from various countries also promote their cultural hub in many international forums like a global village, which is a great way to learn about their tradition.Apart from this, the internet is an excellent source of information and is a good starting point to do some research. Having said this, nothing beats the effectiveness of actually living in a particular country to learn about their way of life. Language skills will develop only when spoken with a local community in a regular basis and will increase vocabulary and mastery of the same. Tradition can be experienced first -hand in its true essence when we participate in the festivities. For instance, the Onam celebration in Kerala is an experience that can never be recreated in another country,as the nature of activity and food and dress is all an embodiment of the makeup of that particular region. To conclude, Living in a country definitely gives more hands-on experience of their culture and traditions however this can also be learned by not actually visiting that particular country