People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

On the one hand, there are individuals who involve themselves in different jobs to earn money to lead a comfortable life. On the other hand, there are some who either do household chores or work for a good cause, namely charity and fundraising. The majority of people prefer working outside to get a salary to fulfil their needs. However, there are many who willingly choose to work tirelessly to take care of their homes and family members. For instance, housewives and grandparents like to stay at home and look after the well-being of their house and children, without getting paid for it. Being a caretaker in the family, the motive behind these endless responsibilities such as cooking, cleaning and grocery shopping, is the immense love and devotion towards their kids and spouse. For example, many wives in India work as homemakers and enjoy doing it. There are others who take part in various professions for the betterment of society not to get any income but for the sake of humanity. Social activists, fundraisers and public servants are a few examples of profiles who indulge themselves in activities and tasks to uplift the marginals or elders. For instance, there are numerous non-profit government organisations, old-age homes and public welfare groups which are funded by wealthy businessmen and governing authorities of the nation who appoint employees who believe in doing community service with superior moral and social values. To sum up, although humans usually get employed by companies to earn wages. However, some would rather serve their best at home or in the community as welfare workers not to get pay cheques, but to attain self-fulfilment.