The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that harsher punishments imposed on driving crimes were the sole way to keep roads safe. From my own standpoint, while I agree that this method could be effective in reducing the number of driving offences, there are other solutions available to tackle this situation. On the one hand, it is true that punishing driving offenders heavily can help improve road safety. Indeed, harsher punishments seem to act as a deterrent to prevent commuters who break traffic laws from recommitting driving offences. Heavy fines, for example, are extremely useful to target people having financial issues who are unable to pay the fines and, therefore, will follow the traffic rules to avoid being punished. Another typical example is vehicle confiscation which is likely to work well with those depending on their private means of transport to make a living like truck drivers. On the other hand, I also support the idea that there are other measures which can be adopted to address driving crimes. One feasible solution is setting up a system of surveillance cameras on the main streets, which can effectively hinder would-be driving offenders from breaking traffic laws. In addition, the construction of dedicated lanes separating cars and buses from motorbikes and bicycles appears to reduce the likelihood of unexpected traffic accidents happening between these vehicles. Furthermore, the government imposing an official ban on private cars from travelling to city centres in a certain number of days of a week, like what Greece already did, also allows inhabitants to travel more safely. In conclusion, it cannot be denied that there are several advantages of heavier penalties; however, national and local authorities can combine them with other solutions to ensure the safety of commuters as much as possible.