Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for goverments to make is a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

There have been several environmental activities recently. One of the most important ones is waste management. It is said that some people do not recycle their waste enough, and there is a belief that the authorities should establish some rules to encourage people. I disagree with this statement to a large extent, and I am going to elaborate on this in the following. In the contemporary world, people's knowledge has changed a lot. They make their effort to protect the environment from various damages. For example, they provide a special bucket to put recyclable products like glasses, paper, and bottles. Hence, they preserve the natural resources. Moreover, sometimes when people encounter compulsory requirements, they try not to obey, even though they have to pay financial punishments for them. Therefore, they do not change their behaviour because they think that laws are unfair and strict. As a result, the government's purposes will not be achieved. Similarly, there are several effective ways to improve people's knowledge and encourage them to pay enough attention to environmental issues. For instance, by providing creative programs on TV, people will be informed about the problems which they will face in the future. Furthermore, the education system can have a significant role because students transfer all the ideas they have learned. Therefore, these lessons help them to become more responsible for their surroundings. Consequently, by changing the education system infrastructure, we can save ecological resources for the next generation. Sometimes legal obligations can encourage people, but it is reported that some incentives lead to positive attitudes and improve people ’s cooperation. In conclusion, although sometimes creating a legal requirement can affect people to recycle their recyclable products, people will not follow it if it is compulsory. I recommend that the government avoid considering laws for this project and encourage the public by offering reasonable ways, like giving rewards.