These days many children spend a great deal of time sitting in from of a television. Some people believe that parents should strictly limit the time that children spend watching TV as it is harmful to their development. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many youngsters, nowadays, excessively sit in front of a television. This can impact negatively on their development so some people argue that children should have a limited time for watching TV and this could be done by their parents. I totally agree with this statement because overly spending time watching TV limits children from developing social skills and improving physical health. Excessive time spent watching television in pupils can lead to the lack of social skills as these children do not use their time with others. Social skills such as communication and conflict management can be learned naturally by spending time with friends since it allows children to talk with others. Therefore, children are forced to improve their communication skills. For example, children who are in a sports club will experience how to work as a team and also learn how to win a game without relationship problems, developing their social skills automatically. And this can be done with parents' support. There is a likelihood of underdevelopment for children who watch TV too much instead of engaging outdoor activities because they have fewer chances to move their bodies. Children ’s muscles and hand-eye coordination can be improved through physical activities such as sports. If children prioritize watching TV and stay in a sedentary posture for a long period, they will have not enough time to move themselves, leading to unhealthy habits. For instance, a research in many countries has revealed that younger children, who normally sit in front of television or even play phones too much, got lower scores on hand-eye coordination tests. In conclusion, if children excessively spend their time on watching TV, they will lack their development both social skills and physical health. Therefore, I agree that parents should take responsibility to limit their kids' screen time and offer alternative choices of playing, enhancing children's essential development.