In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Some companies want that majority of customers are fascinated by new launched items, focusing on promotion that highlights the novelty. In my opinion, enterprises should not regard the new as the most valuable thing in advertising because such way can’t show the real values of the products to public. The businesses usually emphasize the innovation of the items which is able to make them to be differentiated from other competitive companies. To be differentiated by presenting the novelty which can not be seen in market, could be considered as the advanced thing that other companies have not produced before. Sort of enterprises notice that customers want to be satisfied and be superior by possessing these developed goods and use that strategy of the promotion. However, if the companies constantly emphasize only the new part of the products, the really usefull and helpful part of that would be hidden. Although people could be fascinated by the innovative promotion at first, they would lose the interest soon because they can’t know any other useful function they need. Also, the enterprises often use inappropriate expressions, believing that customers would don’t know whether the function is truly new and the advertisement is exaggerated. Since the tactics that highlights the novelty of the items is not likely to increase profits, the companies should therefore, put in efforts to locate a balance between the new and other correct information that customers want to get.