The government should spend money in promoting sport and art in school, rather than sponsoring professional sports and art events in communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The unavailability of living space in congested metropolises has led to unprecedented repercussions in many countries. While the issue is under ongoing discussion for decades, I do believe that radical solutions to the housing crisis mainly hinge on government policy. The dialogue relating to the lack of housing often centres, as it should, around supply. Although housing is a basic human need, affordable housing is increasingly difficult to attain in big cities, especially for low-to-medium-income renters. Therefore, the key solution, I think, should be to depend on the government to subsidize more public housing. By introducing and expanding public housing construction projects, more people who currently struggle to pay their rent would become eligible for affordable accommodation. In addition to focusing on the problem of supply, the housing crisis will not be properly addressed without attention to demand. The primary reason why so many families cannot afford market-rate housing is that a greater share of the nation’s aggregate income goes to upper-income households, who can afford to own a larger share of real estate. Thus, there should be regulations in place that aim to limit land speculation, and higher taxes should be imposed on returns from real estate investments. Nevertheless, there are voices that claim people suffering from housing problems can move to rural areas to lead a less stressful life. Indeed, less populated places tend to provide more options for residence. However, it relies on government action to make rural areas attractive alternatives. It is conceivable that if more people were willing to live in rural areas, the demand for urban housing would decrease and rents and property prices would become more affordable. In conclusion, settling the problem of housing scarcity counts on government efforts to strive for long-term results.