Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some undergraduates have an interest in studying other subject areas in parallel to their mainly focused subjects because they can achieve a broader range of knowledge meanwhile, others argue that the importance of investing total time and attention to the subject they are expertise since it is compulsory to have in-depth education about that specific area. However, In my point of view, both these sides are equally significant and should be established in a balanced way, therefore it is examined in this essay. On one hand, university students must have a wider capacity for comprehension of related fields too. It might help them to develop themselves into personalities who are capable of dealing with novel issues that arise in their own area. Take one of my experiences as an example, I specialised in microbiology at university, but I followed an optional module on biochemistry too. Hands-on experience in biochemistry thus, assisted me in completing my research on microbiology. Familiarity with other closely related subjects is therefore needful for undergraduates. On the other hand, students should have an in-depth understanding of their main subject so they need more and more time to master it other than learning the optional fields. For instance, medical students should be well qualified and trained at their graduation since patients' lives would rely on their hands. Hence, undergraduates need not waste their valuable time by mastering other areas of subjects. In conclusion, getting some understanding about more related subjects might help university students to be fully equipped to face possible problems in their own field, but it should be given the same importance as expertise in their main area by thoroughly studying it since it will shape their future professional career. In my opinion, therefore, both of these arguments have the same value hence students should be more intelligent to utilize their time in a balanced way.