Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measures should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

In this day and age, the increasing weight among children has become a matter of great concern. This is mainly due to the increase in the use of fast foods, but it can be controlled by educating the parents as well as the children. Amongst the major factors, adopting an unhealthy eating pattern is perhaps the most significant contributing element. That is to say, in this high pace era, children are more likely to eat junk food and sugary drinks instead of healthy ones: green leafy vegetables, pulses, and nuts, as compared to previous generations. Besides, physical inactivity is another cause. This is because, children love to watch television and play games rather than play outside with friends and join a gym to maintain the body healthy, hence, they become overweight. In, the USA, for example, the obesity rate was 80% as mentioned by the report of the world health organization, WHO. Turning to solutions, governing bodies must come forward to overcome this issue to educate children by using social networking sites, for example, YouTube, Instagram and Facebook, regarding the bad effects of fried food. By doing this, they are less likely to take unhealthy food products. Moreover, every individual ought to encourage their children to take part in active exercise sessions or either join a gym. Consequently, exercise sessions assist to burn calories which aids to reduce obesity. In conclusion, despite the fact that being overweight among children is a major concern we are facing today, if appropriate actions are taken by the government and individuals, it can be controlled to a greater extent.