Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is claimed that nowadays children are mostly occupied with their smartphones. There are some reasons towards this trend and I believe that it has more negative impacts than its benefits. Many reasons can be named towards the excessive usage of smartphones by children. Firstly, in the modern world, education mostly relies on technology. As a result, children need to do their homework on some platforms and send it to the teacher. So they need to be occupied by mobile phones. Secondly, with the development of communication software, children prefer to sit on the sofa and interact with their peers on their user-friendly devices. Telegram and Facebook, for example, provide an environment to accommodate this need. And last but not least, a large number of game companies each year release new or updated games for children. For instance, Clash of Clans is one of the most popular ones that children enjoy dedicating their time to playing it. Although there are some merits about the usage of mobile phones by children all day, in my opinion, this is a negative development. This trend leads children to be nurtured as Anti-social members of society. To clarify, lack of interaction with people around them especially those who are older than them like their uncle or aunt, in the real world, makes them not to be well-behaved in society. Yet another reason is that this sedentary lifestyle brings health problems. They prefer to be at home and play video games with their cutting-edge mobile phones rather than playing outside to have physical activity. Hence, not only do they become obese, but also they might suffer from sight problems due to staring at just a colourful screen. In summary, these days, children spend most of their time on mobile phones because of the new methods of education, the attractions of software programs, and the development of video games. In my personal view, the disadvantages of this trend are more than its advantages like not learning proper social communication skills and health problems.