Nowadays eating habits of people around the world are changing, causing many health problems including obesity. Why do people tend to eat so badly? What can be done to improve their eating habits?

Obesity has become a common health problem over the world nowadays due to changing eating habits among people. Some suggested that this is because of the inflation of fresh and organic food, people are more likely to choose food with low-price and quality. The reason for this phenomenon and possible ways to enhance would be discussed in this essay. Firstly, people preferred to buy bulk food at a lower price and neglect the food's nutrients. Since, economic growth and industrialisation, there is plenty of convenient food such as constant noodles, cans and frozen foods in the supermarket. Those foods are massively manufactured so they have a lower production cost. In contrast, those organic and nutritious food usually have a higher cost because it is without using pesticides, so farmers would spend more time and effort nourishing the plants. As a result, consumers find that organic ingredients are not that affordable as others and ignore their nutritional values. To transform this circumstance, it should give tangible incentives for consumers to choose healthy foods. Since high-quality foods are usually at a higher price thus it could be an unnecessary expenditure for most people, especially for poverty. The government can offer food allowance to encourage people to buy fruits or healthy foods. For example, some nations provide subsidies to their senior citizen to buy fresh fruits every month. It can alleviate citizens' financial burden of purchasing quality food and encourage them to eat more fruits. In conclusion, people are more preferred to spend less on what they eat thus the quality or nutritional value of the food is not in their consideration. I strongly believe that it can be changed if the government can provide an allowance to buy healthy food.