Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays youngsters are more engaged with their friends rather than their atomic families, so being affected by their other young friends is an inevitable issue. Even though there may be some special occasions when such effects are valuable, I will elaborate on why, I believe such effects often not only deteriorates the self-confidence of teenagers but also mislead them, especially students. To begin with, feeling self-esteem by teenagers is vulnerable to being hurt by the harmful friendship that they experience in this phase of their life. In fact, such intensive could be the effect of acquiescence on a young man, or woman, that they afraid of being judged whenever they want to express their independent attitudes and take strategic decisions in their life. To exemplify, I remember that during studying in high school, I used to allocate most of my time to solving tough discrete mathematics and calculus questions, rather than solving ordinary and regular problems. However, to prevent myself from being judged by my classmate, I never talked with my teachers about my lack in mathematics, so I lost a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to take the National Mathematics Olympiad, which unfortunately led to many drawbacks in my prospective future career and scientific path. Moreover, peer pressure could lead students to follow the mode of their friends, which is somehow misleading for exceptional young men. In fact, from one side doing a blind mimicry from the way that accompanying friends are pursuing, maybe not be the solution for an individual, and on another side, being afraid of not being accepted from, or even being rejected, from the club of close friends, due to making different strategic decision in life, is stressful for youngsters. So,unfortunately, young men become trapped by choosing a way of life that it's not their cup of tea. In my story of the National Mathematics Olympiad, in fact, I thought that in a case that I choose the Olympiad path rather than the normal path of my classmates, I will not only put step in the wrong way but lost my network of close friends. To conclude, parents should train youngsters so that do not be under the deteriorating influence of their fellow ages, though they should take care of their constructive friendships.