In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

A commonly held belief is that affording necessary goods play an important role in our modern life and no one can deny it. However, in recent years we have noticed that purchasing has become entertainment for people, as well as a way of fulfilling their needs. Personally, I agree with this statement and my essay will extensively explain the reasons to support my opinion based on real-life examples. To begin with, I am an advocate of knowing that one recent shopping is leisure activity only due to the shopping malls. It is not a secret that recently many plazas are erected in the cities, which also certain amusements are equipped around where children could play inside. Consequently, not only parents can dedicate quality time to their purchases, but simultaneously their kids can have a pleasurable time playing or learning some new things like handicrafts. As a result, this phenomenon could be considered as affirmative. On the other hand, in our precious era, folks need no special occasion to shop. Luckily, nowadays shopping is not restricted to groceries, but also luxury items, because the main motive is a pleasure. Need is not the only case anymore, but the actual reason is self-satisfaction- they feel happy when they shop for what they like. For instance, many individuals shop for branded products, even if the same item could be found in the market at an economical cost, just to satisfy their esteem needs. Since a vast majority of the population these days are engaged in jobs that require working outdoors, they need new stuff to meet their everyday needs. In a nutshell, shopping is now considered a pastime activity of a task because of the change in mindset over the years. It started from being a mandatory household errand to a leisure activity. I strongly believe this a positive trend seeing that a vast majority of the population are following their own desires and boosting the economy with their many purchases.