Some governments believe it is necessary to impose a higher tax on junk food because an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much of this type of food.What do you think about this?

Health issues have become a pervasive concern for many modern nations. Because of the high consumption of fast food more and more people suffer from dire health problems, which leads authorities to consider imposing a higher tax on this type of food. This essay will demonstrate why I entirely support the idea. The key reason why a such high tax on junk food might be extremely helpful is it simply will restrict easy access to unhealthy food to numerous people. If the burger price of the famous fast food chain Mcdonald's, for instance, were $10 instead of $5, much fewer people would be able to buy them and ingest obesity-leading ingredients. More people, as a result, would have well-balanced diets and stay healthier. Introducing a high tax on this type of food, in short, will bring societies far-reaching positive consequences. Another solid factor, which might be counted for imposing a fast food tax, is that governments will have extra income to provide financial support to other spheres that need such resources. In the case of a precedent of imposing a high tax on tobacco and alcohol in Australia, for example, the country’s authorities had extra finances to invest in the healthcare sector, which was crucial not only to maintain it but also to develop better medical services. A higher tax on junk food, therefore, will help to tackle health problems in many ways. In conclusion, cheap fast food should not be an easily accessible menu option for people, especially for those who have devastating health problems. Based on the reasons presented in this essay, imposing a higher tax on fast food as an effective method to curb consumption of this type of meal and as a potential source of finance to support and develop the healthcare sector, I absolutely agree with the statement.