In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case ? Do you think this a positive or negative situation ?

It is often opinionated that having a home is more primary than renting one in some countries. A fluctuating economy and a steady rise in property value might be the causes for this situation. I believe this is a positive condition as it will benefit people financially in the future. Firstly, the economic fluctuation could influence property price significantly, especially in a turmoil condition. Renting fee really depends on the interest rate that is decided by the government at a given time. As a result, the cost is not constant and changes over time, creating an uncertain condition. In contrast, property value is steadily increased over the years because its supplies far exceed its demands. In other words, the property price is stabler than the renting price over time and it creates more confidence in buying the home. Secondly, the condo price nature that yields a steady increase annually could become a new investment instrument for the owner. Moreover, a condo is the shelter where the owner live, so they could invest while living in it at the same time. In addition, the price also hikes consistently, yielding some profits every year for the landlord. This practice is so common that even people are buying an apartment just for the sake of profit, not as a residential building. For instance, a house in Beverly Hills was worth around $1 million and it just sold around for $10 million in 2020, giving $9 million profit over 12 years for the possessor. To summarize, a recent preference of owning a house over renting one might be caused by the economic condition and the attractiveness of it as an investment instrument. Given by those reasons, I believe it is a positive situation as it gives many advantages to the possessor.