Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, a great number of companies tend to sponsor various fields of sport to make a profit. While some individuals claim that it is beneficial, others contend companies’ advertisement throughout sport has some drawbacks. Personally, I believe that sports sponsorship can be both valuable and disadvantageous. On the one hand, corporate sponsorship of sports has a number of advantages for athletes and firms. Firstly, when firms support athletes financially, an athlete can put all his/her strength on training and progress. To explain, the athlete has not any concern about either the life costs or providing the special equipment, sports clothes and shoes because the firm pays enough money to the athlete to wear for example a cloth, which is designed with the Firm’s name, during the match. Secondly, firms usually hire an expert coach for athletes to teach them, Further, athletes are given a place to practice. To illustrate, Iran Oil Company has taken a foreign coach and a huge football pitch to its football team. On the other hand, there remain some disadvantages in the view of other people. Firstly, advertisements can partly distract viewers’ attention. To explain, there are many advertising banners which are hung on the walls in stadiums and gymnasiums. Moreover, the athletes ' clothe, which are mentioned before, contain advertisements for brands. Secondly, some companies sell detrimental food products like soft drinks. Drinking soft drinks is completely contrary to health. Even due to this reason, Ronaldo, a famous football player, during a sport conference removed a can of Pepsi soda from his table and did not allow this company to advertise during a sports meeting. To conclude, I argue that while advertising during a sport competition can be a distraction, the financial support of sponsors is well-worth. Also, it is noticeable that companies which sell harmful products should be banned from sports sponsorship