Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that cars are one the most important transportation means and nowadays, many use these vehicles as their most prominent mode of commuting on a daily basis. However, there are some experts who predict in the near future they will be replaced by other means. I am among those who believe that number of cars in use will decrease and in the following, I will elaborate on the reasons. First, according to many recent studies, the population of world is growing rapidly and their need to have an affordable means of transportation is increasing. According to statistics, in twenty years, our natural resources like oil and gas will decrease sharply, and scarcity will increase the price of such chemicals dramatically. Donald et al. revealed in a recently published paper that the price of one litre of gas in Los Angeles, California will be more than 200 dollars in less than 10 years. It is evident that most people cannot afford such high prices and they have to use public transportation. With the increasing number of people who can buy cars, market demand will drop sharply and many car manufacturers will be broken and their production lines will be closed. To make a long story short, It seems sweeping changes related to the fuel cars consume are required to predict anything other than decreasing number of cars in use. Second, many may argue that technological revolutions may change the game and that green fuels will change the paradigm. There are two main candidates, Li-ion batteries and Solid Oxide Fuel Cells. I can logically prove that these two are not qualified substitutes as having vehicles using such sources of energy may require a revolution in many infrastructures such as gas stations. Gas stations have to be completely replaced by some new brand energy stations that can charge these cars. If we take into account, the number of stations and the whole money-consuming process of making the demanded buildings it seems it does not sound. Therefore, there are significant barriers in the way of developing such modern cars and many countries, including developing countries will not be able to promote using these state-of-the-art automobiles. All in all, the high prices of non-renewable resources will definitely block any further use. Substitute technologies are possible in case of changing many infrastructures that are not viable for many nations, thus it will not help promote car applications.