Many people say the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problem could this situation cause and what measure can be done to address those problems?

Currently, there is a rise in the distance between the wealthy and needy people. The root causes of this are due to the differences in not only opportunities but also lifestyles, yet it can be tackled by the government who provide social welfare for the poor. To commence with, one of the reasons for this is the diversity of chances in career. In other words, the rich also have their available social relationships, property and knowledge which promote them to higher positions in their occupations. Meanwhile, disadvantaged individuals do not have any chance to overcome their poverty or become affluent. For example, 95% of impoverished white-collar workers in the UK could not move to the positions of managers because they did not have enough relationships in the firms. In addition, another principal cause is the distinction in lifestyles between the rich and the poor. To be more specific, poor people tend to pursue extravagant lifestyles and waste their money on negative purposes such as using drugs and gambling or betting. In contrast, prosperous people just follow frugal lives as well as invest their money in several projects or ventures that can make a profit for them. As a consequence, the poor easily go bankrupt, while the rich also become wealthier. For instance, in 2021, The New York Times showed that the top 10 billionaires in the USA just paid 2$ for each breakfast, whereas 5 million citizens who lived in slums always spent 50$. A solution, however, can be found in the government's actions towards the poor. The most effective approach is for people who are deprived can receive social amenities like accommodations, food and drinks from local authorities. As a result, these things will enhance the quality of their lives, leading to bridging the gap between the rich and the poor. Take Vietnam as an example here where 50 charity events happen every year to supply necessary facilities for deprived people and they also assisted more than 20000 citizens to relocate to adequate houses. Therefore, the increase in the gap between affluent and poor individuals stems from inequality of work opportunities along with diverse lifestyles. Nevertheless, supplying vital things for the needy will improve this problem.