Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Cars are, without a doubt, one of the most common modes of transportation, and many people use them for their daily commutes. However, some experts predict that they will be replaced in the near future. I am among those who believe that the number of cars in use will decrease, and I will explain why in the section that follows. First, according to statistics, our natural resources such as oil and gas will decrease sharply over the next two decades, and the scarcity of these materials will dramatically increase the price of such chemicals. Donald et al. disclosed in a recently published paper that the price of a litre of gasoline in Los Angeles, California will exceed $200 in less than ten years. Evidently, the majority of people cannot afford such high prices and must instead rely on public transportation. As the number of people who can fuel their cars decreases, the market demand for cars will plummet, and many car manufacturers will fail and close their production lines. To make a long story short, it appears that drastic changes to the fuel that automobiles consume are required to predict anything other than a decline in the number of automobiles in use. Second, many may argue that technological revolutions and green fuels will change the game and the paradigm, respectively. The leading candidate is hydrogen fuels. Li-ion batteries and Solid Oxide Fuel Cells are being developed to replace current engines that use Hydrogen and produce water as a byproduct of H2 gas combustion. It has been demonstrated that these two novel engines are not suitable replacements, as vehicles using such energy sources may necessitate a revolution in many infrastructures, such as gas stations. In order to charge the new batteries, gas stations must be completely replaced with new energy stations. Taking into account the number of stations and the entire time- and cost-intensive process of constructing the required structures, it does not make sense. Therefore, there are significant obstacles to developing such advanced automobiles, and many nations, including developing nations, will be unable to promote the use of these cutting-edge vehicles. I concur that automobile use will not be as widespread as it is today. The high prices of nonrenewable resources, on the one hand, and the financial difficulties that many countries may encounter when constructing the necessary infrastructures, on the other hand, will prevent their continued use. I can envision clearly the day when public transportation will predominate and private car ownership will be obsolete.