Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

An ample amount of money tends to be invested in special celebrations, namely weddings. This essay will first explain the reasons for this tendency, and secondly, think that it is a negative development. There are many reasons for this development, two of which are the purposes of showing off people's wealth and enhancing their social standing. The first factor behind it refers to the desperate need to boast about one's opulence, from which some individuals’ pleasure is deprived. The practice can be explained by the pride people may take when others express great admiration towards their exclusive possessions which are allocated for organizing luxurious weddings. Another point worth mentioning is that these days, the social standing of a family tends to depend on the way they organize their children’s weddings. If the celebration is grand and splendid, their position on a social scale would be greatly promoted. Consequently, there would be an increasing number of families attempting to set up weddings that are as magnificent as possible. In my opinion, expensive weddings are negative for several reasons related to unnecessary competition in extravagant spending, and wastage of resources. Chief among these is that many families would enter into rivalry with one another to show their affluence, which forces them to spend immoderate amounts of money on such sumptuous celebrations. The worst consequence to be considered is that those people could live in an era of indebtedness. The second issue worth exploring is that tremendous resources such as food and clothes would be wasted. For example, after weddings are organized in a restaurant, it is usually reported that a great number of leftovers would be thrown away as it is impossible for them to serve the purpose of reusing. In conclusion, I understand the tendency of setting up bigger and more costly weddings partly as a means of showing one’s wealth and partly as an approach to upgrade their social status. However, these reasons cannot satisfy the negative effects involved.