Too much attention is given to headline-grabbing disaster like earthquakes and floods. Governments should concentrate their resources on educating people about their risks they face nearer to home, which can cost far more lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this.

It is sometimes argued whether governments should make citizens aware of any possible situation they are facing and educate them on what to do when a sudden disaster occurred. I completely agree with this idea. On the one hand, some people might argue that with the rapid growth of global warming and climate change, natural disasters can be unpredictable and varied, so it is difficult to train each and every citizen on how to face that. For example, Henan, a province of China, suffered from devastating floods on July 2021, because of a rare torrential rain that occurred. Passengers were trapped in the subway, and the floods caused landslides and overwhelmed dams and rivers. Even if the government have educated people to mind any signs before floods or what to do when floods occurred, the severity of the floods still makes it impossible for local residents to react. On the other hand, it is important for individuals to know what was happening all over the world and how to deal with all kinds of disasters, whether the disaster is common in your country or not. For instance, since earthquakes are a frequent phenomenon in Japan, the Government of Japan have put much effort into teaching children and teenagers what to do when an earthquake happens. By doing this, the Japanese would not panic during earthquakes, instead, they know exactly what to do and are calm to face this kind of natural disaster. In conclusion, I believe that it is the government's responsibility to educate citizens about the risks they are facing near their homeland, while it is also vital to learn how to react no matter what kind of disaster is.