In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In order to reduce the crime rate, more and more security camcorders are being installed in public venues these days which some critics would consider invasive. However, I believe that the benefits prevail over the drawbacks on this occasion. One of the major benefits obtained from the installation of video cameras is for criminal identification. This system enables authorities to access an unlimited amount of data on each citizen, simplifying their responsibilities and enabling them to make time for other vital matters. Moreover, a noticeable reduction in the days spent on each crime case adds to the advantages of this approach because it saves a lot of time for law enforcement to take other essential actions such as background checks and scene research instead. On the other hand, these camcorders can guarantee the safety of individuals in a more efficient way, enhancing their social life simultaneously. Numerous studies have shown a significant increase in public interactions among total strangers due to their previous knowledge of the existing security cameras in the area. However, invading individuals’ privacy can be accounted as one of the major downsides of this approach. These measures endanger the sensation of relief and implement the constant fear of being under surveillance; therefore, people would not be as motivated to go outside as they usually would due to the lack of comfort. Besides, they might fear that the collected data by public camcorders would be put to use for other purposes rather than reducing crime rates. For instance, if this sensitive information falls into the wrong hands, it could be used as leverage for extortion. In a nutshell, despite the aroused criticism towards the construction of security cameras, I side with the group that believes the pros prevail over the cons because even though the privacy invasion cannot be neglected, communities could benefit from an improvement in the means of general safety.