Although nowadays people are reading news through internet, newspaper still remain of values. Do you agree or disagree?

Despite the fact that modern technological marvels based on the internet have certainly brought a plethora of reading materials to our hands, the old-school newspaper remains to be an emblem of greater value. I strongly agree with this argument and furthermore, I believe these values should be preserved for the future. I will be explaining the cause of my stance throughout the essay. Firstly, newspapers symbolize a great historical value as in most countries the existence of the newspaper industry dates back hundreds of years. For example, in our country, some of the key newspapers such as 'Dinamina' and 'The Buddhist' have roots back to the independence revolution. In the US, newspapers such as 'New York Herald' have been actively distributed since the early 1800s. Therefore, these names have resonated amongst generations of our forefathers. Not just the historical value, but also the process of distributing newspapers to every doorstep of the country has been a daunting task that involves a large workforce. Starting from the collection of paper materials, manufacturing of papers, typesetting, printing, binding and distributing these newspapers to the local retailer, contributed to putting food on the table for many families. Therefore, these generations have valued the work of newspapers. In contrast, there is a generation that heavily relies upon digital media as their main method of news consumption. While there are already popular tabloid news organisations profiting millions of dollars by distributing the news across all digital platforms similar to mobile, tablet and computer, there are hundreds of up-and-coming outlets bringing different content to their subscribers based on their demography. Due to this relentless competition, it is sad to say that newspapers might become a long-gone memory as convenience is something people might always look for regardless of the unhealthy outcomes it might cause. In conclusion, we have to accept that the explosion in the digital era might have created many paths to even existing newspaper outlets to move out of their business and focus on digital media. But, the value of newspapers should always be preserved because of the historical value as well as the livelihoods of thousands who depend on it.