As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Newspapers are becoming obsolete, as the internet grows in popularity. I strongly believe this is true based on two reasons, first efficiency and secondly personal interest of the different types of readers. The primary argument which supports this situation is the fact that, nowadays, it seems to be simpler to seek news on the Internet rather than in journals. For example, while, finding specific data in a newspaper could take a couple of minutes, it only takes a few seconds for an individual to find the exact information which he is looking for by using the net. Some argue that this way of searching has a higher risk for the reader to face the news. However, this can be easily solved by teaching people to be aware of looking for information from the official media only. Moreover, thanks to new technologies, individuals can directly go for the events that they are interested in by tipping what they are looking for in their favourite search engines, like Google, Yahoo, etc. Additionally, when individuals use the web to update themselves on their preferences it is also simpler to read more than one point of view on the same topic, whereas, usually newspapers do not have a variety of ideological thoughts. To illustrate, many journals had their own political beliefs and this can influence how history is told. To conclude, reading the news on the Internet is more convenient and gives the chance to go straight to the point compared to reading it in a newspaper.