Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. what is the reason? is it positive or negative development ?

The newest technological inventions allowed us to introduce the driverless car. It may be a solution to numerous traffic accidents. However, in my way of thinking, it can be even more harmful than traditional cars. The reason why engineers are trying to invent intelligent cars could be an immense demand for a solution to driving events problems. Each year, on the road many people die or are injured because of an accident. The number of these events is extremely high and has to be lowered. The data shows that the most responsible for them are drivers. Many of them don't realise how important focus and care about others is. Unfortunately, there are a lot of motorists who drive a car after drinking alcohol or drug use. That makes them unreliable and indicates that the elimination of humans could solve the problem. For example, there are numerous records which provide data about how great an impact have a conscious driver to road safety. However, the resignation of a motorist might be risky due to the unreliability of artificial intelligence. A driverless car is over human control. In many situations that can reveal to be a negative effect. If this car brokes, loses its lane, or simply disconnects from the network, will become even more dangerous than a traditional one. The results of the uncontrolled drive will be fatal. For instance, artificial vehicles are still in the research stage, and not allowed for public usage. In conclusion, the answer to mitigating the problem of driving safety may be the elimination of a human factor which is the main cause of traffic accidents. Although, leaving the car out of control is hazardous due to the unreliability of artificial intelligence. I believe, that at this stage, artificial cars are a negative invention.