Computer have changed the way people study. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using computers as study aids?

Technological advances have allowed people to modernise and use technology as a learning tool. To state a few positives, many believe that using computers as study aids, has enhanced their learning by allowing them to explore a wider range of areas, research conveniently and be able to interact with other students around the globe. However, others may disagree and feel that using computers has had negative impacts such as using them for socialising, and illegal content and may in fact hinder any educational achievements. On the one hand, it is believed, that using computers can help with education. For example, people can easily research and access information with just a couple of taps and clicks. Whereas, before their invention, public libraries and books had to be used for any research or source of information. Therefore, this required commuting and as a result, was very time-consuming. Hence, computers help to save time and aid in studies by comfortably being to obtain information. Similarly, online there are many study groups available. Communities are formed on particular subjects and topics. For instance, students from medical fields form their own blogs and allow access to everyone across the globe, helping those in need. On the other hand, with every technological advancement, comes a drawback and many negatives. If computers and online content are not monitored, as a consequence, they may be used for other distractions. To cite an example, social media websites, as well as games, are easily available online. Consequently, this can deter any educational progress and cause an obstruction to learning. Additionally, computers need a source of internet connection, whether WIFI or cellular to function. If these options are not available, then individuals are unable to use the internet for research or any communication purposes. Thus, the use of computers is very limited as they are only as efficient as the user. To conclude, utilising these digital machines is only as good as the person using them. Although it has many cons such as limited use without an internet connection and a distraction from social media sites, it also has many advantages if used responsibly bringing phenomenal results when used to help with studies.