Some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Increasing the cost of fuel to decrease environmental pollution is a popular idea in many countries. In my opinion, while higher fuel costs may have certain effects, there are various significant methods to improve the environment. On the one hand, there are certain reasons why increasing the cost of fuel is beneficial. First, this may help reduce air pollution from vehicles. This is mainly because if the cost of fuel rises, people will use fewer personal vehicles. As a result, emissions from vehicles may decrease. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, people rarely use vehicles, so air pollution is significantly reduced. Second, the amount of pollution from many factories may fall. The main reason is that when the price of fuels increases, many factories will use different power sources which are environmentally friendly such as solar energy or wind power. On the other hand, the government should adopt other methods to resolve environmental issues. To begin with, investing in public transport may be an effective way. When the public transport system is developed and modern, more people will use public transport. Therefore, the problem of air pollution may be lessened. Moreover, planting new forests and protecting current ones also help protect the environment. Every year, trees absorb a large amount of carbon dioxide and release oxygen into the environment. Also, the air may be fresh and conditioned by trees. Therefore, people should exploit forests rationally and prevent forest fires. In conclusion, although increasing the cost of fuel has a lot of benefits, the government should care about different factors affecting the environment.